Turning The Pages: ‘She Regrets Nothing’ by Andrea Dunlop

By

New York. Living here is one of the craziest things in the world and yet it’s one of the best places to live. I find myself at home here and maybe that’s why I love to get wrapped up in books that are set here.

When She Regrets Nothing came across my desk, I was thrilled to sit down and read. New York. ✅ Power. ✅ Intrigue.✅ Drama. ✅

If you haven’t heard of the book, here’s what it’s about –

In the tradition of The Emperor’s Children and The House of Mirth, the forgotten granddaughter of one of New York’s wealthiest men is reunited with her family just as she comes of age—and once she’s had a glimpse of their glittering world, she refuses to let it go without a fight.

When Laila Lawrence becomes an orphan at twenty-three, the sudden loss unexpectedly introduces her to three glamorous cousins from New York who show up unannounced at her mother’s funeral. The three siblings are scions of the wealthy family from which Laila’s father had been estranged long before his own untimely demise ten years before.

Two years later, Laila has left behind her quiet life in Grosse Point, Michigan to move to New York City, landing her smack in the middle of her cousins’ decadent world. As the truth about why Laila’s parents became estranged from the family patriarch becomes clear, Laila grows ever more resolved to claim what’s rightfully hers. Caught between longing for the love of her family and her relentless pursuit of the lifestyle she feels she was unfairly denied, Laila finds herself reawakening a long dead family scandal—not to mention setting off several new ones—as she becomes further enmeshed in the lives and love affairs of her cousins. But will Laila ever, truly, belong in their world? Sly and sexy, She Regrets Nothing is a sharply observed and utterly seductive tale about family, fortune, and fate—and the dark side of wealth.


Our Blurb: Drama, drama, drama and we’re living for the drama on every page. Andrea Dunlop weaves a tale that keeps you captivated from the first page to the last.

Overall Thoughts: I think that in the face of pain, we all make some hard decisions and making some life choices while filled with pain isn’t always the best thing to do. Laila is at her mothers funeral and she doesn’t know that at the back of the funeral 3 of her cousins are there from New York. Now, I have to give it to her, because she noticed them. I didn’t notice anyone at my Moms funeral.

For Laila, she didn’t know that she had family on her father’s side. She was shocked to learn that she had family. We see a journey for Laila over the next few years, traveling back and forth getting to know her family in New York. They are extremely rich and have a fabulous lifestyle.

So Laila decides to go to NYC and live there. She wants the life that she sees her cousins have. I think that we all think that life of the rich is amazing. But we learn so quickly that the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

Laila’s willing to do anything to fit in. But what she quickly learns is that sex, lies, betrayal, blackmail, and money are everywhere. Drama, drama, drama. Is New York the best place for her?

The thing about this book is that it keeps you captivated because it makes you feel for the characters. It makes you love some and hate some. It makes you want some to succeed and some to fail. There is a lot of great characters in the story.

But as I say all these things, its noted that I couldn’t relate to any of the characters. I live here in NYC and all I kept thinking was “Lord, rich people and their made up issues.”

But would I suggest this book? Oh ya. It’s a fun read that will make you thankful for your not so rich family problems.

We also recommend