Queerly Not Straight: 10 LGBTQ+ Audiobooks Available on Hoopla

Queerly Not Straight: 10 LGBTQ+ Audiobooks Available on Hoopla

In an effort to build a space for queer people like myself, every Tuesday I’ll be posting opinion pieces, listicals, reviews, and more focused on the LGBT community (and occasionally about the Latinx/WOC community since I am Latinx.) Welcome to Queerly Not Straight! Enjoy and leave a comment below if you have a suggestion for what I should cover next.


With everything going on in the world right now, it’s essential to know where you can go to access content that’ll keep you sane, tethered, and entertained. In an effort to be that source I’ve put together 10 LGBTQ+ audiobooks that you can check out on Hoopla, a free service available at most local libraries!

1. Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

Summary: What if you went to a school where it was actually all right to be who you really are? That’s the enchanting place David Levithan has created in his highly acclaimed first novel. But even if the gay kids and the straight kids all get along just fine, even if it’s all right for the quarterback to be a cross dresser named Infinite Darlene and the cheerleaders to ride Harleys into the pep rally, the road to true love is still a strange and winding path-as Paul discovers when he meets the boy of his dreams. Charming, funny, delightful, and utterly heartwarming, this YA novel speaks with clarity and depth about our need to love and be loved.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add Boy Meets Boy to your Goodreads HERE.

2. Drag Teen by Jeffery Self

Drag Teen by Jeffery Self

Summary: A fantastic, fabulous, funny YA debut from Jeffery Self, one of the gay icons of the YouTube generation, that follows one high school student on a drag race to his future. Debut author Jeffery Self takes us on a road trip with an insecure high school senior who was one goal: to be the first in his family to leave Clearwater, Florida, and go to college. The problem is, he has zero means of paying for school – until his friends convince him to compete in a drag teen competition for a college scholarship.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add Drag Teen to your Goodreads HERE.

3. Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

Summary: A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby. Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye. As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add Fans of the Impossible Life to your Goodreads HERE.

4. I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver

I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver

Summary: When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they’re thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met. Struggling with an anxiety disorder compounded by their parents’ rejection, they come out only to Hannah, Thomas, and their therapist and try to keep a low profile in a new school.

But Ben’s attempts to survive the last half of senior year unnoticed are thwarted when Nathan Allan, a funny and charismatic student, decides to take Ben under his wing. As Ben and Nathan’s friendship grows, their feelings for each other begin to change, and what started as a disastrous turn of events looks like it might just be a chance to start a happier new life.

At turns heartbreaking and joyous, I Wish You All the Best is both a celebration of life, friendship, and love, and a shining example of hope in the face of adversity.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add I Wish You All the Best to your Goodreads HERE.

5. Carol by Patricia Highsmith

Carol by Patricia Highsmith

Summary: A chance encounter between two lonely women leads to a passionate romance in this lesbian cult classic. Therese, a struggling young sales clerk, and Carol, a homemaker in the midst of a bitter divorce, abandon their oppressive daily routines for the freedom of the open road, where their love can blossom. But their newly discovered bliss is shattered when Carol is forced to choose between her child and her lover. Highsmith’s sensitive treatment of fully realized characters who defy stereotypes about homosexuality marks a departure from previous lesbian pulp fiction. Erotic, eloquent, and suspenseful, this story offers an honest look at the necessity of being true to one’s nature.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add Carol to your Goodreads HERE.

6. It’s Not Like It’s a Secret by Misa Sugiura

It's Not Like It's a Secret by Misa Sugiura

Summary: Sixteen-year-old Sana Kiyohara has too many secrets. Some are small, like how it bothers her when her friends don’t invite her to parties. Some are big, like the fact that her father may be having an affair. And then there’s the one that she can barely even admit to herself–the one about how she might have a crush on her best friend.

When Sana and her family move to California, she begins to wonder if it’s finally time for some honesty, especially after she meets Jamie Ramirez. Jamie is beautiful and smart and unlike anyone Sana’s ever known. There are just a few problems: Sana’s new friends don’t trust Jamie’s crowd; Jamie’s friends clearly don’t want her around anyway; and a sweet guy named Caleb seems to have more-than-friendly feelings for her. Meanwhile, her dad’s affair is becoming too obvious to ignore.

Sana always figured that the hardest thing would be to tell people that she wants to date a girl, but as she quickly learns, telling the truth is easy…what comes after it, though, is a whole lot more complicated.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add It’s Not Like It’s a Secret to your Goodreads HERE.

7. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Summary: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out-without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met. Incredibly funny and poignant, this twenty-first-century coming-of-age, coming out story-wrapped in a geek romance-is a knockout of a debut novel by Becky Albertalli.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda to your Goodreads HERE.

8. Leah on the Offbeat by Becky Albertalli

Summary: In this sequel to the acclaimed Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – now a major motion picture, Love, Simon, we follow Simon’s BFF Leah as she grapples with changing friendships, first love, and senior year angst. When it comes to drumming, Leah Burke is usually on beat but real life isn’t always so rhythmic. She’s an anomaly in her friend group: the only child of a young, single mom, and her life is decidedly less privileged. She loves to draw but is too self-conscious to show it. And even though her mom knows she’s bisexual, she hasn’t mustered the courage to tell her friends not even her openly gay BFF, Simon. So Leah really doesn’t know what to do when her rock-solid friend group starts to fracture in unexpected ways. With prom and college on the horizon, tensions are running high. It’s hard for Leah to strike the right note while the people she loves are fighting especially when she realizes she might love one of them more than she ever intended.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add Leah on the Offbeat to your Gooreads HERE:

9. Pulp by Robin Talley

Pulp by Robin Talley

Summary: In 1955, eighteen-year-old Janet Jones keeps the love she shares with her best friend Marie a secret. It’s not easy being gay in Washington, DC, in the age of McCarthyism, but when she discovers a series of books about women falling in love with other women, it awakens something in Janet. As she juggles a romance she must keep hidden and a newfound ambition to write and publish her own story, she risks exposing herself-and Marie-to a danger all too real. Sixty-two years later, Abby Zimet can’t stop thinking about her senior project and its subject-classic 1950s lesbian pulp fiction. Between the pages of her favorite book, the stresses of Abby’s own life are lost to the fictional hopes, desires and tragedies of the characters she’s reading about. She feels especially connected to one author, a woman who wrote under the pseudonym “Marian Love,” and becomes determined to track her down and discover her true identity. In this novel told in dual narratives, New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley weaves together the lives of two young women connected across generations through the power of words. A stunning story of bravery, love, how far we’ve come and how much farther we have to go.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add Pulp to your Goodreads HERE.

10. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

Summary: A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi Lee—Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Check it out on Hoopla HERE.

Add The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue to your Goodreads HERE.


Queerly Not Straight posts every Tuesday with opinion pieces, listicals, reviews, and more focused on the LGBT community (and occasionally about the Latinx community since I am Latinx.)

Don’t miss out on posts like this! SUBSCRIBE to our monthly newsletter HERE!

‘Schitt’s Creek’ Episode 6×13 Review: “Start Spreading the News”
It’s here, everyone. The beginning of the end of Schitt’s Creek. This …
Elliot Stabler Making A Comeback In Law & Order: SVU Spinoff
Attention Law & Order: SVU fans, Elliot Stabler is making a comeback. …
‘The Bachelor Summer Games’ Have Been Nixed
You know we love some good drama, and who gives us more …
‘9-1-1’ 3×13 Review: “Pinned”
This week’s episode 9-1-1, “Pinned” was another intense one with several gruesome …

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.