Game of Thrones Season 7 Will Be Seven Episodes

It’s official – Season 7 of Game of Thrones will be seven episodes and will debut in summer 2017.

“Now that winter has arrived on Game of Thrones, executive producers David Benioff and D.B. Weiss felt that the storylines of the next season would be better served by starting production a little later than usual, when the weather is changing,” said Casey Bloys, president, HBO programming. “Instead of the show’s traditional spring debut, we’re moving the debut to summer to accommodate the shooting schedule.”

Game of Thrones typically debuts in the spring and the shift in it’s debut will leave it ineligible for the Emmy’s in 2017. Some other shows must be thrilled because they are ineligible. In order to be eligible a show must run between June 1 and May 31. Here’s the 2018, I guess. Thrones was also nominated for 23 primetime Emmys last week.

Directors for the seventh season include Alan Taylor, Jeremy Podeswa, Mark Mylod, and Matt Shakman.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.