Guest Post: Jenna Guillaume, Author of ‘What I like About Me’


Welcome to the What I Like About Me Blog Tour!

To celebrate the US release of What I Like About Me by Jenna Guillaume on April 1st, blogs across the web are featuring exclusive original content from Jenna, as well as 10 chances to win a finished copy of What I Like About Me and WILAM pocket mirror, as well as one grand prize giveaway of a book, mirror, beach towel, and sunglasses!


5 Irresistible Rom-Com Tropes
by Jenna Guillaume

I love a good trope. They have a bit of a bad reputation—some reviewers say “oh, it’s so tropey” like it’s a negative thing. But if you ever hear me (or a lot of people who are into romance and rom-coms) say those words, you can be sure we’re saying that as a compliment.

When it comes down to it, tropes are really just tools that writers use to build a story. They exist in all genres—action, horror, sci-fi, fantasy…yet it seems to be only when they pop up in romance that they get sneered at.

It’s true, tropes can be cliché. But they can also be a lot of fun. It’s all in how they’re used.

With that in mind, here are some of my fave rom-com tropes—the kind that pretty much guarantee I’ll read or watch something with them in it…

Enemies to lovers
Hate and love are two sides of the same coin. That coin being passion. The “enemies” part of this involves a crackle and sizzle that’s hard to resist. This is the kind of trope that makes for truly excellent banter, as the couple bicker their way through the ~tension~ that exists between them before finally giving in to their urges (to kiss each other, of course). It’s very, very hot.

Best friends to lovers
Good relationships are often built on a solid foundation of friendship. It’s hard to resist a love story where the main pair know each other better than anyone else. All we want in life, after all, is to be known and seen, and this is the perfect trope for feeding into that fantasy. It helps if one person realises they’re in love before the other, because that results in a whole bunch of delicious pining and yearning (and occasional screaming by the reader/viewer at the other person to just WAKE UP and see what’s right in front of them).

Fake dating
This is the kind of trope that legitimately never happens in real life but that is so damn fun in fiction. I think part of the appeal lies in the fact that there are generally very specific rules involved, making the whole process ostensibly less chaotic than “real” dating, and also more tantalising (after all, what’s more irresistible thank breaking the rules?). It’s even better when the fake dating trope is combined with enemies to lovers or best friends to lovers.

Switched places
I’m not sure what it is about this trope that’s so fun—maybe that it’s so ridiculous—but I’m a sucker for it every time. Especially if there are twins or doppelgangers involved. Often it allows characters to step outside their own (sometimes self-imposed) boundaries, break through their comfort zones, and really challenge themselves. In terms of romance, it usually leads characters to meeting people they wouldn’t typically associate with, which is always exciting. The key with this trope is that it must be done in a way that leaves no room for gross consent issues.

Forced proximity
This is a pretty broad trope that covers a lot of different situations—basically any in which two characters have to spend a lot of time (and space) together. Maybe they have to live together for some ridiculous reason, or perhaps they’re even locked in a room or stuck in an elevator. Best of all, they might have to check in to a hotel at the last minute and share a room where (gasp!) there’s only one bed!!! Again, this trope is even more powerful when it’s combined with enemies or best friends to lovers. It often really ushers along that “lovers” part. Ahem.
*****

Blog Tour Schedule:

March 30th – BookHoundsYA
March 31st – Sprinkles of Dreams
April 1st – The Fandom
April 2nd – Fangirlish
April 3rd – Word Spelunking

April 6th – Julie Caught Reading
April 7thA Dream Within a Dream
April 8th – Mundie Moms
April 9th – Good Choice Reading
April 10th – Crossroad Reviews


“This is the book I would hand to teen me.”
—Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

“Funny and heartfelt. I loved it.” 
—Melina Marchetta, author of On the Jellicoe Road

“Debut author Guillaume’s novel features funny dialogue and fresh takes on body image and personal relationships as well as a plucky heroine who slowly but surely comes into her own….Perfect for fans of Dumplin’, a hilariously sweet yet complex romance.” 
Kirkus Reviews




Follow Jenna: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Follow Peachtree Publishing: Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads

You know all those movies where teenagers have, like, THE TIME OF THEIR LIVES? This vacation is probably not going to be that.

The last thing sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin thought she’d be doing over vacation is entering a beauty pageant. Not when she’s spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone. Not when her Dad is AWOL and her gorgeous older sister has returned to rock Maisie’s already shaky confidence. And especially not when her best friend starts flirting with the boy she’s always loved. But Maisie’s got something to prove.


As she writes down all the ways this vacation is going from bad to worse in her school-assignment journal, what starts as a homework torture-device might just end up being an account of how Maisie didn’t let anything, or anyone, hold her back.


Jenna Guillame’s American debut features a plus-size protagonist with a compelling, funny, and authentic narrative voice. This relatable and charming novel about friendship, confidence, and self-love will draw readers in as Maisie’s realistic emotional journey unveils the importance of embracing one’s body and celebrating one’s self.





About the Author
Jenna Guillaume was the editor-at-large for BuzzFeed Australia, where she wrote about pop culture, identity, feminism, social media, and, most importantly, Chris Hemsworth’s biceps. Previously, she worked in the features department of Girlfriend magazine in Australia, writing about everything from bullying and body image to bad kisses and boy bands. She also contributed to Girlfriend Life Hacks, an essential guide to navigating a girl’s completely-awkward-but-totally-awesome teen years. Guillaume lives in Australia. Visit her website at jennaguillaume.com.



GIVEAWAY

  • 10 winners will receive a finished copy of What I Like About Me and WILAM pocket mirror
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11:59pm ET on 4/18
a Rafflecopter giveaway

GRAND PRIZE GIVEAWAY
  • One winner will receive a finished copy of What I Like About Me, WILAM pocket mirror, beach towel, and sunglasses
  • US/Canada only
  • Ends 11:59pm ET on 4/18
a Rafflecopter giveaway
The Rock Makes His First Presidential Endorsement
Dwayne Johnson has made his endorsement for President.
‘The War With Grandpa’ Book Giveaway
The War With Grandpa is out next week and today, thanks to …
‘Britannia’ Season 1 Finale Review: Why in the World?
Hahahaha, remember when I said don't get attached, and then I said …
Robbie Amell To Star In ‘Float’
Robbie Amell is going to be in a new movie, so we'll …

1 Comment

  1. My favorite book set in the summer is probably Summer Sisters by Judy Blume.

    What I Like About Me sounds like such a fun read with a heroine who’s really going to step out of her comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.